Foundation Board of Directors

The Garvan Research Foundation Board was established in 1981 to assist and support the newly-formed Garvan Research Foundation. The Foundation provides the Institute with an additional source of research funds by attracting financial support from companies and individuals. Over the years, the Foundation has evolved to become Garvan's marketing and fundraising arm. The Garvan Research Foundation Board is subject to the ultimate direction of the Garvan Institute Board.

Geoff Dixon

Geoff Dixon - Chair

Mr Dixon, Chairman of the Garvan Research Foundation, also sits on the boards of Crown Resorts Limited, Adslot Limited and the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, and is an Ambassador to the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation.

He has worked in the media, mining and aviation industries, and was Chief Executive of Qantas Airways from 2001 to 2008 and Chairman of Tourism Australia from 2009 to 2015.

Jane Allen

Jane Allen

Ms Allen runs a Governance Advisory business. Previously she was a managing partner at Egon Zehnder, where she also held a leadership role across Asia Pacific. A member of Chief Executive Women, Ms Allen has an MBA from Harvard Business School and a Bachelor of Arts from Smith College.

She has also worked for Procter & Gamble in the US and Australia.

Gabriel Farago

Gabriel Farago

Mr Farago practised as a solicitor and barrister for over 30 years, specialising in commercial disputes in Australia and overseas, before becoming a full-time international thriller writer.

His books –The Empress Holds the Key and The Disappearance of Anna Popov – were released in 2013/14. In 1984, Mr Farago became a member of the Knightly Order of Vitez.

Loftus Harris

Loftus Harris AM

Mr Harris is a professional non-executive director and an advisor to industry and government. He has been chair and member of numerous national, state and industry bodies concerned with issues of economic development, international trade and investment, infrastructure, innovation and technology.

He previously held various executive positions in the NSW, Queensland and Commonwealth public sectors.

John Mattick

John Mattick AO FAA

Professor Mattick is the Garvan Institute Executive Director and Conjoint Professor at UNSW Sydney / St Vincent's Hospital Clinical School. Previously he was foundation Professor of Molecular Biology and Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland.

His many awards include the Australian Government Centenary Medal and the Human Genome Organisation’s Chen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Human Genomic and Genetic Research.

Helen McCabe

Helen McCabe

Helen McCabe is the Head of Lifestyle for at Nine Entertainment Co. Prior to this she was Editor-in-Chief at the The Australian Women’s Weekly, Deputy Editor of The Sunday Telegraph, Night Editor of The Australian and held key roles on The Daily Telegraph

She is also on the board of the Australian Indigenous Education Fund.

Simon MordantSimon Mordant AM

Mr Mordant is Executive Co-Chairman of Luminis Partners.

He is also the Chair of the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, a board member of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, MOMA PS1 in New York, Wharton Executive Board in Asia and a member of the Executive Committee of Tate International Council and a member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

John Schubert

John Schubert AO

Dr Schubert is a non-executive director of BHP Billiton Limited, BHP Billiton Plc, chairman of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation and member of the Garvan Research Foundation Board.

Previously, he was CEO of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia and Pioneer International Limited, Chairman of WorleyParsons Limited and G2 Therapies Ltd, Chairman and MD of Esso Australia Ltd, and non-executive director of Hanson Plc.

Jeanne-Claude Strong

Jeanne-Claude Strong

Dr Strong is a qualified medical practitioner. Dr Strong established and ran three medical clinics in Melbourne and Sydney, focusing on occupational, sports and preventative medicine and stressing the importance of lifestyle management.

She was a member of the Advisory Board of Bluearth and has a passion for yacht racing with an occasional foray in international regattas. 

Peter YoungPeter Young, AM

In July 2013, Peter formally joined Standard Life Investments as their Australasia Chairman.  Peter is also currently a Non-Executive Director of the Sydney Theatre Company, and a member of the Barangaroo Delivery Authority Board. 

He is a recipient of the Centenary Medal and in 2008 was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his services to business and commerce.

© Garvan Institute 2017