Foundation leadership

Andrew Giles
Chief Executive Officer

Andrew Giles

Andrew joined the Garvan Research Foundation in 2011.

Prior to joining Garvan he was CEO of the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia. He also worked with leading not-for-profits including The Shepherd Centre for Deaf Children, The Scots College, Bellevue Hill, The University of Sydney and the Sydney Children’s Hospital.

As well as being CEO of Garvan Research Foundation, Andrew is a Director of Research Australia, and a Director of Fundraising Institute of Australia.

Mara-Jean Tilley
Director of Philanthropy

Brad Timms
Director of Marketing, Communications and Fundraising


The Garvan Research Foundation Board was established in 1981. The Foundation provides an additional source of research funds by attracting financial support from companies and individuals. The Board is subject to the ultimate direction of the Garvan Institute Board.

Russell Scrimshaw

Russell Scrimshaw- Chair

Mr Scrimshaw is the Non-Executive Chairman of Sirius Minerals Plc and the Executive Chairman of Torrus Capital P/L, the Australian Philanthropic Fund, the Scrimshaw Foundation and Scrimshaw Nominees P/L. Previously, he held executive positions at Fortescue Metals Group Ltd (FMG), Commonwealth Bank, Optus and IBM. He was also a non-executive director of Genome.One, Commonwealth Properties Ltd, EDS Australia, Mobilesoft Ltd, Telecom New Zealand Australia Pty Ltd, and Athletics Australia. Mr Scrimshaw is a non-executive director of the Garvan Institute.

Jane Allen

Jane Allen

Ms Allen runs a Governance Advisory business. Previously she was a managing partner at Egon Zehnder, where she also held a leadership role across Asia Pacific. A member of Chief Executive Women, Ms Allen has an MBA from Harvard Business School and a Bachelor of Arts from Smith College. She has also worked for Procter & Gamble in the US and Australia.

Michael Cannon-BrookesMichael Cannon-Brookes

Mr Cannon-Brookes is a Director of Cannon-Brookes Consulting Pty Ltd. He retired from IBM in July 2012, where he was IBM’s Vice President, Global Strategy for Growth Markets, based in Shanghai, China. Mr Cannon-Brookes, a UK citizen, took Australian citizenship in 1994. He graduated with Honors in Law from Cambridge University. He was elected a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in July 2013.

Gabriel Farago

Gabriel Farago

Mr Farago practised as a solicitor and barrister for over 30 years, specialising in commercial disputes in Australia and overseas, before becoming a full-time international thriller writer.

His latest books –The Empress Holds the Key and The Hidden Genes of Professor K– were released in 2013/16. In 1984, Mr Farago became a member of the Knightly Order of Vitez.

John Mattick

John Mattick AO FAA

Professor Mattick is the Garvan Institute Executive Director and Conjoint Professor at UNSW Sydney / St Vincent's Hospital Clinical School. Previously he was foundation Professor of Molecular Biology and Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland. His many awards include the Australian Government Centenary Medal and the Human Genome Organisation’s Chen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Human Genomic and Genetic Research.

Helen McCabe

Helen McCabe

Ms McCabe is the Head of Lifestyle for at Nine Entertainment Co. Prior to this she was Editor-in-Chief at the The Australian Women’s Weekly, Deputy Editor of The Sunday Telegraph, Night Editor of The Australian and held key roles on The Daily Telegraph.

She is also on the board of the Australian Indigenous Education Fund and an Ambassador for Adopt Change. 

Simon MordantSimon Mordant AM

Mr Mordant is Executive Co-Chairman of Luminis Partners. He is also the Chair of the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia and Lend Lease Barangaroo Public Art Committee, a board member of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, MOMA PS1 in New York, Wharton Executive Board in Asia , a Trustee of the American Academy in Rome and a member of the Executive Committee of Tate International Council and a member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

John Schubert

John Schubert AO

Dr Schubert is Chairman of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Chairman of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation, and a director of the Garvan Research Foundation Board. He has held positions as Chairman of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, non-executive director of BHP Billiton Limited, BHP Billiton Plc, and Qantas Airways Limited, Chief Executive Officer of Pioneer International Limited, Chairman of WorleyParsons Limited and G2 Therapies Ltd, Chairman and MD of Esso Australia Ltd, and non-executive director of Hanson Plc.

Jeanne-Claude Strong

Jeanne-Claude Strong

Dr Strong graduated in Medicine, has a post graduate degree in Applied Finance and Investment, BA (literature), was on the Board of Bluearth, flew her Beechcraft Baron from California to Australia via Europe, and races Etchells yachts including recent wins in the Australasian, Queensland and Victorian state championships.


Peter YoungPeter Young, AM

Mr Young formally joined Standard Life Investments in 2013 as their Australasia Chairman. He is also currently a non-executive director of the Sydney Theatre Company, and a member of the Barangaroo Delivery Authority Board.

He is a recipient of the Centenary Medal and in 2008 was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his services to business and commerce.