Institute Executive Team

Senior Executive

Prof John Mattick AO FAA – Executive Director

Prof John MattickJohn was appointed Executive Director in 2012. He has a distinguished career in molecular biology, most recently as an NHMRC Australia Fellow and Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland. He was awarded the 2011 IUBMB (International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Medal, the 2012 HUGO (Human Genome Organisation) Chen Medal, membership of the European Molecular Biology Organisation and Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science.

Listen on Soundcloud

Prof Chris Goodnow FAA FRS – Deputy Director 

Prof Chris GoodnowChris joined Garvan in 2015. He has an extensive background in academia on the faculty of Stanford University and the Australian National University, and in biotechnology start-up companies. He is best known for his research integrating molecular genetics and genomics with immunology, for which he has received a number of awards and election to the Australian Academy of Science, the UK Royal Society, and the US National Academy of Science. 


Dr Marie Dziadek – Chief Scientific Officer

Dr Marie DziadekMarie joined Garvan in 2012. She has extensive experience as a biomedical research leader and manager, having a background in cell and developmental biology, molecular genetics and cancer research.  After completing her DPhil from the University of Oxford she worked in the USA, Canada, and Germany before taking senior positions in medical research institutes and universities in Australia and New Zealand, including the University of Melbourne and the University of Auckland.


Contact for Senior Executive: 

Gabriella O'Neil – Executive Administrator 
tel: +61 (0) 2 9295 8120


Executive Management Group