Student awards

Student awards

Stuart Furler Travel Awards

Stuart Furler was a long serving and highly respected scientist in Garvan’s Diabetes and Metabolism Division who died of pancreatic cancer in 2007. His family established the Travel Award in his memory, as a way of nurturing early career scientists.

Third year PhD students are eligible to apply for the Stuart Furler Travel Award, with winners receiving $5,000 to attend a major international conference relevant to their field of research, as well as to visit labs of potential collaborators.

2018 Winners

Etienne Masle-Farquhar and Ghamdan Al Eryani

2017 Winners 

Deborah  Burnett and Simon Hardwick

2016 Winners

Claire Vennin and Ira Deveson

2015 Winners

Qian Du and Robert Shearer

2014 Winners

2014 Awards – Jackie Lau and Louise Cottle