Professors Mattick and Eisman inducted into Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

Executive Director of Garvan, Professor John Mattick AO FAA FRCPA, and Endocrinologist Professor John Eisman AO, were recently inducted as Fellows of the newly-created Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Professors John Mattick (left) and John Eisman

07 April 2015

Executive Director of Garvan, Professor John Mattick AO FAA FRCPA, and Endocrinologist Professor John Eisman AO, were recently inducted as Fellows of the Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

The newly-established Academy has a mission to promote health and medical research and its translation to a healthier Australia, in part by providing independent advice to government and the community.

The Academy originated in 2012 under the auspices the Commonwealth Department of Health, National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and Group of Eight Universities. In June 2014, 15 inaugural Fellows and Council members were selected under the presidency of Professor Ian Frazer AC. On 25 March 2015, a further 116 Fellows representing a range of disciplines in health and medical research were inducted.

“Garvan is highly supportive of the new Academy, which will provide a high level forum for advancing health and medical research in Australia,” said Professor Mattick.

“Professor Eisman and I look forward to participating in the many conversations that will take place as our health care system evolves towards a new era of precision medicine.”

A recognised leader in calcium, vitamin D and bone disease, Professor Eisman set up Garvan’s Bone Program in 1984 and led it for 28 years. He also set up the world’s longest running population-based study into bone health, the Dubbo Osteoporosis Epidemiology Study, now running for 26 years.

Now Director of Clinical Translation and Advanced Education at Garvan, Professor Eisman has made it his mission to educate the public and doctors about the seriousness of ‘bone failure’ and unnecessary bone fractures.

Professor Mattick has served on councils, advisory boards and committees of a number of research and funding organisations, including Genome Canada, the Wellcome Trust, the Human Frontier Science Program, NHMRC, The Australian Research Council, the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and the Human Genome Organisation. With extensive research experience in genomics, bioinformatics and biotechnology, Professor Mattick was nominated by NHMRC in 2014 as one of the high achievers in Australian health and medical research. He has been pivotal in setting up the Kinghorn Centre for Clinical Genomics, a purpose-built facility for introducing genomic analysis into research and the clinic.

Professor Mattick offered his congratulations to others from UNSW Australia, also inducted as Fellows, including: Professor Robert Graham AO, Executive Director, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute; Professor Peter Schofield, Executive Director, NeuRA (ex-Garvan); Professor Michelle Haber AM, Executive Director, Children’s Cancer Institute Australia; Professor David Cooper AO, Director, Kirby Institute for Infection and Immunity in Society; and Professor Helen Christensen, Chief Scientist, Black Dog Institute.