Meet the Hope team

The Hope Research lab team

Hope Research team leaders 

Professor Chris Goodnow 

Deputy Director, Garvan Institute of Medical Research and internationally renowned immunologist.
Research profile

Professor Ido Amit

Principal Investigator, Weizmann Institute of Science, and pioneering cellular-genomics expert.
Lab profile  
Ido Amit

Dr Dan Suan 

Clinical Immunology and Immunopathology Specialist at the Westmead Hospital.

Research team

Dr Joanne Reed

Group Leader - Rheumatology and Autoimmunity

Megan Faulks

Research Assistant

Zhiguo (Jeremy) Zhang

Visiting Student

Katherine Jackson

Senior Research Officer

Amanda Russell

Senior Research Assistant

Mandeep Singh

Research Officer

Deborah Burnett

PhD Student

Etienne Masle-Farquhar

PhD Student

Megan Barnet

PHD Candidate

Fabio Luciani

Visiting Scientist

Owen Siggs

Visiting Student

Dr Timothy Peters

Bioinformatics Research Officer

Philanthropic leadership 

The philanthropic support of The Bill and Patricia Ritchie Foundation has been a key driver in establishing Hope Research.

For Julia Ritchie and her sister Ruth, Hope Research had instant appeal. “Somebody in your family has, or will have, a mystery disease with no answer,” Ruth says. “When that happens, you might disappear down expensive, well-meaning dead ends – I’ve stopped just short of seeking out witch doctors – or you can support a coordinated, comprehensive study that has the potential to unlock the mystery of all autoimmune diseases, not just the unpronounceable, incomprehensive monstrosity of a thing that has found its way into your life.”

In addition to getting Hope Research off the ground, this new undertaking from The Bill and Patricia Ritchie Foundation aims to pave the way for the additional community funding needed to realise the project’s promise. Ruth says: “We hope that our backing will encourage other people who have family and friends who live with autoimmune diseases to follow our example and participate in Garvan’s ground-breaking research.”