Skip to main content
Elgene Lim

Professor Elgene Lim

Laboratory Head
Connie Johnson Breast Cancer Research Lab

Professor Elgene Lim is a medical oncologist and researcher with a focus on breast cancer research and treatment, and the Principal Cancer Theme Lead at the Faculty of Medicine, UNSW Sydney, and the inaugural National Breast Cancer Foundation Endowed Chair. He completed his doctoral research, medical and oncology training in Melbourne. Findings from his PhD research under the mentorship of Geoffrey Lindeman and Jane Visvader at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, had a major impact on the identification of the culprit cells in carriers of the BRCA1 mutant gene, a hereditary breast cancer syndrome. He subsequently furthered his research and clinical training at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School under the mentorship of Eric Winer and Myles Brown, both internationally acclaimed leaders in breast cancer research and clinical trials, through fellowships from the Fulbright Foundation, National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia, and Royal Australasian College of Physicians.

Elgene currently oversees the breast oncology unit at The Kinghorn Cancer Centre, St Vincent’s Hospital in Sydney. He also heads the Connie Johnson breast cancer research laboratory at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research. In partnership with their patients, their research spans the laboratory to clinical trials. The laboratory performs clinically focused research, including the evaluation of novel therapies, and overcoming resistance to hormone receptor positive breast cancers. Their research is funded through Cancer Australia, NHMRC, Cancer Council NSW, and the National Breast Cancer, Love Your Sister, White Butterfly, Balnaves, Curran Foundation and Garvan Research Foundation.

Elgene also seeks to improve healthcare more globally. At a local level, he volunteered as a physician to asylum seekers without access to Medicare. He currently works with the Asha Kiran Hospital in Orissa, India, on a longer-term strategy of expertise transfer and partnership with local doctors.


  • 2022Cancer Council NSW Sally Crossing Award
  • 2021Principal Cancer Theme Lead - Faculty of Medicine - UNSW Sydney
  • 2017National Breast Cancer Foundation Endowed Chair
  • 2016Thelma Greig Cancer Award - St Vincent's Clinic Foundation
  • 2015Connie Johnson/Love Your Sister Award
  • 2014National Breast Cancer Foundation Practitioner Fellowship
  • 2014Ramaciotti Research Award
  • 2013Claudia Barr Adams Award - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • 2012American Association of Cancer Research Scholar in Training Award
  • 2011National Health & Medical Research Council Overseas Biomedical Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • 2010Fulbright Victoria Fellowship.
  • 2009Edith Moffatt Award - Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
  • 2009JJ Billings Research Fellowship - Royal Australasian College of Physicians
  • 2008Early Career Bench to Bedside Collaboration Award - Victorian Cancer Agency
  • 2008Glaxosmithkine Postgraduate Award
  • 2007Australian Stem Cell Research Center Postgraduate Award
  • 2007Clinical Oncology Society of Australia Tumour Targeting Fellowship
  • 2006National Breast Cancer Foundation White/Zaal Postgraduate Scholarship
  • 1997Prize for Best knowledge - Singapore Armed Forces Officer Cadet School
  • 1990M Patrick Callinan Academic Prize - St Mary’s College - University of Melbourne

Selected publications

See all publications