Skip to main content
Max Nobis [C]

Dr Max Nobis

Visiting Scientist
Invasion and Metastasis Lab

Dr Max Nobis studies cancer progression and treatment at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research. Following his MSc in Oncology at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam, he went on to work in Professor Kurt Anderson’s lab at the CRUK Beatson Institute in Glasgow. His PhD project focused on characterising FRET biosensor mice and their use in studying disease progression in mouse models of mammary and pancreatic cancer, as well as their use in monitoring pharmacodynamics in vivo, employing optical window imaging. Max joined Professor Paul Timpson’s lab to apply advanced imaging techniques in the study of pancreatic cancer disease progression and treatment, using FRET biosensor mice in conjunction with genetic mouse models of pancreatic cancer and patient specific biomarkers for the tailoring of personalised treatment regimens.


  • 2017Lorne Cancer Conference Poster Prize
  • 2018CINSW Early Career Fellowship
  • 2018St. Vincent’s Research Week National Meeting Prize
  • 2019Hunter Cell Biology International Meeting - Sydney Catalyst Prize
  • 2021ANZSCDB Early-Career Researcher Award

Selected Publications

See all publications
  • 2023
    Science advances10.1126/sciadv.adh0831

    Therapeutic blockade of ER stress and inflammation prevents NASH and progression to HCC.

    Ebru Boslem, Saskia Reibe, Rodrigo Carlessi, Benoit Smeuninx, Surafel Tegegne, Casey L Egan, Emma McLennan, Lauren V Terry, Max Nobis, Andre Mu, Cameron Nowell, Neil Horadagoda, Natalie A Mellett, Paul Timpson, Matthew Jones, Elena Denisenko, Alistair R R Forrest, Janina E E Tirnitz-Parker, Peter J Meikle, Stefan Rose-John, Michael Karin, Mark A Febbraio
  • 2023
    Science advances10.1126/sciadv.adf9063

    Monitoring AKT activity and targeting in live tissue and disease contexts using a real-time Akt-FRET biosensor mouse.

    James R W Conway, Sean C Warren, Young-Kyung Lee, Andrew T McCulloch, Astrid Magenau, Victoria Lee, Xanthe L Metcalf, Janett Stoehr, Katharina Haigh, Lea Abdulkhalek, Cristian S Guaman, Daniel A Reed, Kendelle J Murphy, Brooke A Pereira, Pauline Mélénec, Cecilia Chambers, Sharissa L Latham, Helen Lenthall, Elissa K Deenick, Yuanqing Ma, Tri Phan, Elgene Lim, Anthony M Joshua, Stacey Walters, Shane T Grey, Yan-Chuan Shi, Lei Zhang, Herbert Herzog, David R Croucher, Andy Philp, Colinda L G J Scheele, David Herrmann, Owen J Sansom, Jennifer P Morton, Antonella Papa, Jody J Haigh, Max Nobis, Paul Timpson
  • 2023
    Science advances10.1126/sciadv.abp8314

    Memory of stochastic single-cell apoptotic signaling promotes chemoresistance in neuroblastoma.

    Jordan F Hastings, Sharissa L Latham, Alvin Kamili, Madeleine S Wheatley, Jeremy Z R Han, Marie Wong-Erasmus, Monica Phimmachanh, Max Nobis, Chiara Pantarelli, Antonia L Cadell, Yolande E I O'Donnell, King Ho Leong, Sophie Lynn, Fan-Suo Geng, Lujing Cui, Sabrina Yan, Joanna Achinger-Kawecka, Clare Stirzaker, Murray D Norris, Michelle Haber, Toby N Trahair, Frank Speleman, Katleen De Preter, Mark J Cowley, Ozren Bogdanovic, Paul Timpson, Thomas R Cox, Walter Kolch, Jamie I Fletcher, Dirk Fey, David R Croucher
  • 2022
    Nature communications10.1038/s41467-022-32255-7

    Temporal profiling of the breast tumour microenvironment reveals collagen XII as a driver of metastasis.

    Michael Papanicolaou, Amelia L Parker, Michelle Yam, Elysse C Filipe, Sunny Z Wu, Jessica L Chitty, Kaitlin Wyllie, Emmi Tran, Ellie Mok, Audrey Nadalini, Joanna N Skhinas, Morghan C Lucas, David Herrmann, Max Nobis, Brooke A Pereira, Andrew M K Law, Lesley Castillo, Kendelle J Murphy, Anaiis Zaratzian, Jordan F Hastings, David R Croucher, Elgene Lim, Brian G Oliver, Fatima Valdes Mora, Benjamin L Parker, David Gallego-Ortega, Alexander Swarbrick, Sandra O'Toole, Paul Timpson, Thomas R Cox
  • 2021
    Science advances10.1126/sciadv.abh0363

    Intravital imaging technology guides FAK-mediated priming in pancreatic cancer precision medicine according to Merlin status.

    Kendelle J Murphy, Daniel A Reed, Claire Vennin, James R W Conway, Max Nobis, Julia X Yin, Cecilia R Chambers, Brooke A Pereira, Victoria Lee, Elysse C Filipe, Michael Trpceski, Shona Ritchie, Morghan C Lucas, Sean C Warren, Joanna N Skhinas, Astrid Magenau, Xanthe L Metcalf, Janett Stoehr, Gretel Major, Ashleigh Parkin, Romain Bidanel, Ruth J Lyons, Anaiis Zaratzian, Michael Tayao, Andrew Da Silva, Lea Abdulkhalek, , , Anthony J Gill, Amber L Johns, Andrew V Biankin, Jaswinder Samra, Sean M Grimmond, Angela Chou, Jacky G Goetz, Michael S Samuel, J Guy Lyons, Andrew Burgess, C Elizabeth Caldon, Lisa G Horvath, Roger J Daly, Nikolaj Gadegaard, Yingxiao Wang, Owen J Sansom, Jennifer P Morton, Thomas R Cox, Marina Pajic, David Herrmann, Paul Timpson