Skip to main content
Brooke Pereira

Dr Brooke Pereira

Senior Research Officer
Invasion and Metastasis Lab

Dr Brooke Pereira completed her PhD at Monash University within the Biomedicine Discovery Institute under the supervision of Professor Gail Risbridger in late 2018. During her candidature she studied tumour-stroma interactions in localised prostate cancer using tissue engineering and quantitative mass spectrometry (MS)-based proteomics. Brooke is now a post-doctoral Research Officer at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, where she is investigating novel stromal targets in pancreatic cancer under the supervision of Professor Paul Timpson. She is using a range of cutting-edge techniques such as patient-derived xenografting (PDX), LC-MS/MS, MALDI imaging and advanced microscopy to study the stroma of both murine and human pancreatic tumours.


  • 2013Monash Summer Research Scholarship – Australian Centre of Blood Diseases (ACBD)
  • 2014ASMR Campion-Ma-Playoust Memorial Award – Best Presentation at the Australian Health and Medical Research Congress
  • 2014Department of Education Research Training Program (RTP) PhD Stipend
  • 2014Justus Liebig University (JLU) Postgraduate Student Travel Grant
  • 2015Monash Institute for Medical Engineering (MIME) Travel Grant
  • 2016ASBTE Postgraduate Student Travel Grant
  • 2016Monash University Postgraduate Travel Grant Award
  • 2016World Biomaterials Congress (WBC) Trainee Award – 1 of 45 recipients worldwide
  • 2017ASBTE Postgraduate Student Travel Grant
  • 2017EACR Image of the Month – “3D melt electrospun scaffold model of the human prostate tumour microenvironment”
  • 2017ESA Postgraduate Student Travel Grant
  • 2018Lorne Cancer Conference Poster Prize – 1 of 6 awarded

Selected Publications

See all publications
  • 2020
    The EMBO journal10.15252/embj.2019104063

    Stromal cell diversity associated with immune evasion in human triple-negative breast cancer.

    Sunny Z Wu, Daniel L Roden, Chenfei Wang, Holly Holliday, Kate Harvey, Aurélie S Cazet, Kendelle J Murphy, Brooke Pereira, Ghamdan Al-Eryani, Nenad Bartonicek, Rui Hou, James R Torpy, Simon Junankar, Chia-Ling Chan, Chuan En Lam, Mun N Hui, Laurence Gluch, Jane Beith, Andrew Parker, Elizabeth Robbins, Davendra Segara, Cindy Mak, Caroline Cooper, Sanjay Warrier, Alistair Forrest, Joseph Powell, Sandra O'Toole, Thomas R Cox, Paul Timpson, Elgene Lim, X Shirley Liu, Alexander Swarbrick