Skip to main content
Shane Grey

Professor Shane Grey

Laboratory Head
Transplantation Immunology Lab

Professor Shane Grey received his PhD immunology training at Monash University and his post-doctoral training as a transplant immunologist at Harvard Medical School, USA. Shane later became involved in islet transplantation and type I diabetes research though the JDRF Islet Transplant Center at Harvard in the late 1990’s.

In 2000 he received a JDRF Career Development Award to establish a research program aiming to understand how islet beta cells die; and in 2001 was appointed as Assistant Professor in Surgery at Harvard Medical School. In 2003 Shane received a NSW BioFirst Award and was recruited back to Australia to the Garvan Institute of Medical Research. In 2007, Shane was awarded as a Key Opinion Leader (KOL) in transplantation by The Transplantation Society International. In 2010 Shane received a JDRF- Macquarie Group Foundation Innovation Award for his work in T1D.

Shane is the head of a transplant immunology research team at Garvan; a lead investigator on Australia's first clinical islet transplant program at Westmead; Program Director of a national NHMRC/JDRF research program for T1D and a founder of the Australian Islet Study Group.


  • 2018NHMRC Senior Research Fellowship (SRF-B)
  • 2013NHMRC Senior Research Fellowship SRF-A (6th Year Extension 2015)
  • 2012TSANZ “Ian McKenzie Prize” – for outstanding contributions in Transplantation
  • 2011Associate Professor - Faculty of Medicine - UNSW - Sydney - Australia
  • 2010JDRF and Macquarie Group Foundation Diabetes Research Innovation Award
  • 2009ARC Future Fellowship
  • 2009Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow Award
  • 2008Mary Jane Kugel Award - JDRF New York
  • 2007“Key Opinion Leader (KOL)” award in transplantation – The international Transplantation Society (TTS)
  • 2005Mary Jane Kugel Award - JDRF New York
  • 2003NSW-BioFirst Award
  • 2003Senior Research Fellow - Garvan Medical Research Institute - Sydney - Australia.
  • 2001Assistant Professor in Surgery - Harvard Medical School.
  • 2000JDRF Career Development Award

Selected publications

See all publications